ICS Magazine

Recognizing Our Industry Leaders

January 8, 2013

It’s the beginning of the IICRC’s 41st year and I’m humbled by that achievement and marketplace acceptance. Over the past month, I’ve reflected on how far the organization has come in that time, and what our founder, Ed York, would say today. Each year, during the annual Shareholders and Certification Council meetings, a number of awards are given in recognition of those who have given so much to the IICRC and our industry overall.

First, I was pleased to award the renamed “Ed York Founder’s Award” to his lovely and wonderful widow, Wanda York, during the IICRC Shareholders meeting in October. As you all know, Ed was the founder of the organization and Wanda, his partner in business and life, assisted in the development and then provided the critical follow through that ensured the survival of the organization. Ed was the consummate idea man and Wanda complemented him by refining the ideas, giving them substance and implementing them into reality. After I presented her with the plaque, Wanda proceeded to share stories from the early days: of training and education, Steam Services, the founding of the Society of Cleaning Technicians (SCT) and the founding of the IICUC (International Institute of Carpet and Upholstery Cleaning, the original name). It reminded me of the beginning of our organization and how much has changed.

In October, we also awarded the “Keith Williams Award.” Named in honor of an early technical pioneer of the cleaning industry, the “Keith Williams Award” is presented to individuals who have made significant technical contributions to the advancement of the science of inspection, cleaning and restoration. This year’s recipient was Judson Jones, who passed away in July 2012 at the age of 81. He was an extraordinary innovator and leader in the carpet cleaning industry, developing the truckmount system that we know today. 

Additionally, we recognized a number of professionals for their dedication to the IICRC, and the time and effort they’ve put in through the years. These are our unsung heroes and the ones you might not see or hear from every day, but know they are working hard behind the scenes to make things happen for industry and Institute. A sincere “thank you” to those who were recognized with Appreciation Awards, including:

  • Mike West, Certification Council chair, 1989-1991
  • Larry Cooper, Certification Council chair, 1991-1992
  • Eric Rottmeister, Certification Council chair, 1992-1995
  • Jeff Bishop, Certification Council chair, 1995-2003
  • Joe Dobbins, Certification Council chair, 2003-2008
  • Barry Costa, Certification Council chair, 2008-2011
  • Jim Holland, standards chairman, 2009-2012
  • Joey Picket, upholstery and fabric cleaning technician chair, 2004-2012
  • Janet Dobbins, exam chair, 2007-2012
  • Robert Daniels, Inspection Division chair, 2010-2012
  • Scott Mims, Restoration Division chair, 2009-2012

When I look at this list, I’m in honored to work alongside the amazing team of people we have had involved in the IICRC throughout the past four decades, as well as the Board of Directors, the IICRC staff and our dedicated volunteers. You all inspire me to lead this organization forward through goals, strategic planning and accomplishments, while always keeping in mind where we came from, what it took to get us here and where we are going. As we enter into 2013, we are refining and implementing our current programs and finding improved ways to serve all the needs of our industry partners and stakeholders.  It is through our “t.e.a.m.” (together everyone accomplishes more) effort that our goals, strategic plans and accomplishments will come to life.